Master Key In Florida

Master Key – Week 14 – Movie

3 Comments

The movie I chose was Wild, starring Reese Witherspoon.

When I write my blogs, I do make an effort to say something that I believe will be interesting as well as an honest representation of my thoughts. I will try to do the same with this blog,  staying as positive as I can while adhering to the first two objectives.

First, I think Reese Witherspoon did a great job as an actress. The heroine had what she thought was her DMP, and she persevered. She substituted grim determination for a PMA, which was a lot for her, given the state of mind she was in.  The best that can be said about her POA was that it left a lot to be desired.

Her stated DMP was to show that she could be the person her mother believed her to be. I’m sure that was part of her DMP, what she told herself; but her subconscious DMP was to punish herself and to atone for her past mistakes. She accepted the pain as part of a cleansing process, or a mental and spiritual detoxification. She took a lot of very unnecessary and dangerous risks; but that, of course, was part of the punishment and atonement theme.

I saw the incredibly large and heavy backpack  as a metaphor for the guilt she carried. She did, after proving to herself that she could make it to the first stage of her journey, allow her backpack to be lightened. She also connected with a few people who, for brief periods, acted as support and alliances.

The uplifting and inspiring aspect of this movie, for me, was to see how life can play out without Jesus Christ in your life. I was thankful, once again, for His mercy and forgiveness. I was once again grateful for not having to carry the burden of guilt for the wrongdoing in my life as the character in the movie had carried her backpack.

 

 

Author: masterkeyinflorida

I am supposed to be retired, but I really just changed jobs. We recently moved from CA to FL, where we're restoring a fixer upper that is turning into our dream house, and I'm also in the process of writing a series of children's books.

3 thoughts on “Master Key – Week 14 – Movie

  1. Thanks for the nice post Sonia. I havent watched the movie, but you were able to identify many different aspects, since you were watching with “MKMMA – Glasses”. Thanks for the review, and I like that you were able to compare youre situation with the heroine’s, and be grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review of the movie, Sonia, You´ve put a lot of thought into this and I love how You observe the plot from the MKE view!
    Wish You and Your loved ones an amazing 2016!

    Mahalo, I appreciate You!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful and insightful post…thank you for sharing these insights! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment